Daily Archives: March 15, 2010

Real World Matrix

Im not a lazy person by nature. In fact I’m the complete opposite of that. I very rarely have a moment to myself that’s not required for sleep and I get very fidgety or have this feeling of sluggishness when Im not exercising.

This past Sunday I found myself with nothing do to and hamstrung by the wet weather – I found myself plugged into the internet. I have cable tv in my room with a wonderfully nice LCD screen, an Xbox 360, loads of media, movies and music so its not like I didn’t have other alternatives. I suddenly realized I was gravitating towards my laptop every hour and what was going on in the internet – or what I would call the Matrix.

It was at that moment where I had discovered I was in the position of making a choice- the blue pill or the red pill?

I chose to stay in the Matrix because it was just so convenient. On better days Id be out riding my bike, working out at the gym, catching a movie with friends and that kind of thing. I certainly hope this isn’t an ongoing trend. Perhaps I should unplug myself from the cloud and take up more outdoor pursuits…Still the growing trend is that there are more and more people online – speaking out, changing the way we do things, see things, buy things and in general our daily lives.

I wonder if there are many of us out there given the choice would take the blue pill or the red pill.

This is Devon plugging out.